Tags

, , , , ,

The other week was really cold. Quite a few crisp, sunny days but resolutely cold. I lost one day’s work because I couldn’t do hedge planting when the ground was frozen, all the moisture is locked up in the soil, as well the groundbeing hard (literally!) To dig. The other days, I wrapped up well and chose jobs to keep warm.

The mulching continued and, with a bit of help, I got a good way to emptying that trailer. See previous post for the ‘full’ picture. It is sometimes said not to mulch frozen ground as it prevents it from warming up but this is a thin layer, to top up the organic matter rather than a thick weed suppressing mulch and it doesn’t make much difference anyway.

I do about 5 different gardens in an average week, I have some weekly, some fortnightly and 1 monthly so this is just a round up of jobs spread across them. This was a particularly cold day so I started off in the polytunnel, clearing last year’s left over vegetable plants and the dog helped himself to carrots. It didn’t warm much but I started the apple tree pruning in the orchard and gave up when I couldn’t take the cold any longer.

-5!

I started a new garden and it was -5°c.

It’s got vegetable beds, a wall border, lawn and a beautiful oak tree. I managed some cutting back of a mass of raspberries and then worked my way around the border as the sun came out. It has been well planted and I am looking forward to seeing what is there throughout the year, quite nice to start in January even if it was a bit chilly.

It’s got some lovely features, this would have been the access to the church across the road, so it’s an exciting start. Can’t wait for spring though.