Tags

, ,

It was back to work this week, after 2 weeks off. There was no easing my self in gently, I started with large scale muck spreading in low temperatures and a biting wind. Even using all that energy didn’t keep me warm but I was just glad that I managed to keep going for the day, I haven’t done for a few years and I thought that I might be too old and unfit. I did feel it in my legs the next day though!

The work begins!
Garrya looking good. I’ve been working with the other gardener to get it into a better shape.

After that the week got marginally warmer as the wind dropped. I seem to have been up a ladder and using my long pole cutter quite a bit. I’ve been tidying up a Virginia creeper and pruning a Wisteria.

Wisteria pruning, ongoing.

I am using the slower, winter period to try and get on top of rose and shrub pruning and do a bit of planning, mostly in my head, what could go wrong?

Rose pruning, just made a start on this one.

Winter flowers are so precious. Here are a few from this week

Aconites always flower nice and early.
Vinca major – periwinkle.
Mahonia

Next week I start a new garden! Can’t wait to see what’s growing in it.